Basic formulas you need to know in online advertising

Online advertising uses Internet as a channel to promote brands and products of an advertiser. In order to measure the success rate of a product/brand. It is essential to know what are the basic formulas in advertising and how they are calculated., Let’s take a look on the basic formulas used in advertising as below.,

Online advertsing
Online advertising


A campaign has 4 different banners and the CPM is set to $4 and the impressions to be served is 300000. What would be total cost.

Cost = CPM x (Impressions/1000)
Cost = $4 x (300000/1000) = $1200

  • CPM(cost per mille)

Similarly, What would be the CPM if a campaign has budget of $1500 and 300000 Impression 

CPM = Cost to an Advertiser x 1000 / Impressions
CPM = $1500 x 1000/300000 = $5

  • CPC(cost per click)

If a campaign has got 50 clicks for 300000 Impressions and budget of $1500. What would be the CPC?

CPC = Cost to an advertiser / number of clicks
CPC = $1500/50 = $30

  • CTR(click through rate)

If a campaign has served 100000 Impressions and generated 20 clicks. Then the CTR would be.,

CTR = (number of clicks / number of impressions) x 100
CTR = (20/100000) x 100 = 0.02%

  • CVR/CR(conversion rate)

If a campaign has served 100000 Impressions and generated 120 clicks and 50 conversions. CVR would be calculated differently based on the rate Models.

CVR/CR = (number of conversions/Impressions) x 100 (CPM model)
CVR/CR = (50/100000) x 100 (CPM model) = 0.05%

CVR/CR = (number of conversions/clicks) x 100 (CPC model)
CVR/CR = (50/120) x 100 (CPC model) = 41.66%

  • CPA(cost per action)

A campaign has got 50 conversions for 300000 Impressions and budget of $1500, Then the CPA would be.,

CPA = Total cost of the campaign/ Total Number of actions
CPA = $1500/50 = $30

  • ROI(return on investment)

If a campaign has generated $2000 revenue on spending $1500. The ROI will be 1.33.

ROI = Total Revenue generated by the campaign/Total Spend
ROI = 2000/1500 = 1.33

  • eCPM(effective CPM)

eCPM is the actual CPM that a campaign is being applied.

eCPM = ( Total spent / Impressions delivered ) x 1000
eCPM = ($1500/100000) x 1000 = $15

  • eCPC(effective CPC)

eCPC is the actual CPC that a campaign is being applied.

eCPC= (Total spent / clicks)
eCPC =$ 1500/20 = $75

  • eCPA(effective CPA)

eCPA is the actual CPA that a campaign is being applied.

eCPA = Total spent / number of conversions or actions
eCPA = $1500/10 = $150

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